Visitors Feedback Form

United Republic of Tanzania  
  • Mwl. Julius K. Nyerere
  • Mh. Amani Abeid Karume
How Do I
Read More » ...
Home Government Defence and SecurityPolice Force Police Force Structure

The Force is a centralised organ with hierarchical organisational structure set up from the Headquarters flowing downwards to Regional / Unit, District and Police station levels

 Administration and Command

  • The Inspector General is the chief executive of the Force. He is assisted by  Commissioners heading directorates of Administration and Resources,
  • Operations and Training,
  • Criminal Investigation
  • Zanzibar 

The Commissioners of Police Zanzibar and Dar es Salaam Special Zone are responsible for management and administration of the Force in Zanzibar and Dar es Salaam Special Zone, respectively. For the purpose of administration and command of the Force, the country is divided into 28 regions, 23 of which are on the mainland and five in Zanzibar. There are also 119 Police administrative districts on the mainland and 10 in the isles. The Force has also established 13 operational / specialised units which carry out special duties depending on the purpose of their establishment.

At regional /unit level there are Regional /Unit Commanders who are responsible for management and administration of their respective regions /units and oversee all police functions at district and station levels. In the performance of their duties, Regional / Unit Commanders are responsible to the Inspector General. 

Source: Government Portal Content Committee, Last Reviewed on : 2015-10-15 06:00:00
1 Total
Very Useful 0
Quite Useful 0
Unsure 0
Not Very Useful 0
Not at all Usefull 1
Ease of Access
1 Total
Very Easy 0
Quite Easy 0
Unsure 0
Not Very Easy 0
Not at all Easy 1

Click here to subscribe this page
Subscribe new content on this page